The Devil’s Curse – all about the unseen…

 

Is it just me or do other people think about what they are not seeing when they walk into a room?

You might see the walls, the ceiling, the floor, the furniture, the people – but I also am very much aware there might be other “things” in a room that our human eyes aren’t seeing.

I know that our eyes operate at a certain frequency – I can’t remember what that is, but I know if you use night-vision cameras in a darkened room, then the lens can penetrate the inky darkness and see objects that are otherwise invisible. However, there are other “spectrums” which even the most sensitive camera cannot see into – what if supernatural entities exist there?

In my minds eye, if I let myself think about it, when I walk into a room and the hairs on the back of my neck stand up, I see myself surrounded by tens or even hundreds of creatures, could be the ghosts of humans or animals, all existing in another realm, all invisible to the human eye. These figures might be screaming, clawing, their faces distorted in pain – could be horrific what is going on within touching distance of me, yet I am completely oblivious. In fact, the only sign that there is a “presence” in a room, is the fact that I feel uneasy or desperately want to leave.

So that is one of the themes I explore in my horror movie The Devil’s Curse / Credo, but I don’t think I go far enough. I want to make another film that really tackles the unseen, for I’ve always believed what is not seen and not talked about, is scariest of all.

Does anyone else think about these things? Or is it just me?

 

~ by female film maker on November 21, 2008.

4 Responses to “The Devil’s Curse – all about the unseen…”

  1. Interesting. I agree to some extent. I do relate to the feeling you mentioned when you step inside a dark room. Yes you get this feeling of not being along. It’s a strong and sure feeling like the air you are breathing. You don’t see it but it’s there. What makes me curious is… are there actually unseen forces hiding in the shadows waiting for us to discover them or is it our mind playing tricks on our soul? Either ways, we are not alone. Never. Either they are there. Always. Watching us from the shadows or our mind makes them real. In both the cases, they exist. Yes they do. I think this whole point was very well woven in Credo. Yeah you didn’t exactly shout from the rooftops but that element was evident. And thats the beauty of this film. You know whats more interesting to me… was all of it intentional or was it my mind that enhanced that feeling for me 🙂

  2. Toni may I request you to check out my Horror Poetry series titled “Death Catalyst Devil” on http://www.booksie.com/kshitij_sharma

    I will be honoured to receive some feedback from you.

  3. Kshitij – I read some of your poetry and short stories. They are fantastic! Really expressive and emotive. You are an incredibly talented writer!

  4. Wow! I can’t believe you could take out time to read some of my works. Thank you. Thank you so much. I really cherish your feedback 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
