Spring Into Action

It’s been a while since I’ve posted anything on my blog so it’s time for a much-needed update!

I’ve finally learned how to multi-task! Well, I wouldn’t say that I’ve mastered multi-tasking, just that there’s quite a lot of things happening all at the same time in my film-making life and my main job right now is to keep on top of it all.

I’m just about to launch a new documentary film which I’ve been making for the past few months. Now it’s all finished creative-wise, it’s time for the hard work – setting up the launch and bringing the film to market. So my directors head has been packed away and on goes the producers head. In fact, I’ve been ringing around today to find an interesting screening venue for the launch….More on that to come.

Meanwhile, we’ve been venturing into the world of licensing video content to the internet – all really complicated but potentially, this could be the future of film-making in terms of being paid for the films you make!

At the same time, I’ve been busy running some practical hands-on film workshops – Brighton Film Workshops – all about giving people practical experience handling equipment and working with cast and crew.

Brighton Film Workshops giving practical film experience

Then there’s my next feature film. I think the market is changing so quickly that there’s now two schools of film-making – the traditional way where you find someone to bring on finance and distribution, you make your film and then other people launch it to the world, and there’s the new way of basically doing everything yourself!

It really is the case that if you want to make a film and you want it badly enough, then you can’t rely on other people, you have to put your heart and soul on the line and go for it.

So that’s my mission right now. To put my heart and soul into getting my next feature film off the ground. Because that’s the only way it will get made. And now I’ve mastered multi-tasking, anything is possible.

~ by female film maker on March 9, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
